Today is (a poem)

Today is Sunday.
On this day
I will eat streaky bacon sandwiches,
And Sunday brunch with Tim and Si.
I will hold my head up high
As I lie in-
Taking time wasted on the chin.
We will potter in the garden
And listen to the archers
And pretend that we are 40 years or more.
The football teams will score
And the chapelgoers sing out for more silence-
Gently enjoying this day of rest.
I will seek out sunny beaches
And snuggle under blankets
As this sunny day descends on me-
Watching dancers in sequins
Getting in a spin on our Sunday night telly.
My heart is smothered in gravy
And crumble-
As the week ends in a lovely mumble-
And I am ready for the Monday beyond.

Hope you’re all having as lovely a Sunday as I am 🙂

H xx

Leave a Reply

