Words (poem #21)

I remember you on a Tuesday-
Stare at a screen,
think of some ideas
and forget you again.
I feel you nagging at my shoulder while I’m writing an invoice
and wrapping your arms around my legs whilst I’m trying to have a conversation.
You whisper to me late at night when I’m trying to sleep,
getting louder and louder until I listen to you.
You are infuriating, frustrating and unreliable-
Difficult to organise,
complex to manipulate,
awkward at the best of times.

But when I turn my back and ignore you,
the pain is greater than I can bear.
So in these small moments,
I embrace you
hold you
turn you into something new.

For you grow when you are nurtured-
And I flourish when you exist.

One thought on “Words (poem #21)

Leave a Reply

